Decibel - Electronic concertos, act 2

Output Type



TURA New Music and Perth Institute of Creative Arts


Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) / Centre for Research in Entertainment, Arts, Technology, Education and Communications




Tonkin, C., Alvarez, P., Thorpe, D., James, S., & Decibel, (2017). Decibel - Electronic concertos, act 2, PICA, Perth, Australia.


A series of co-composed pieces for electronic soloist and Decibel.

The concert featured the APRA AMC Decibel commissions, that include an iphone work from Mark Oliveiro (NSW) and a trautonium work by Meg Travers (WA). Other works included one for speakers from Johannes Mulder (WA), for Moog Synthesiser by Chris Tonkin (WA , for bass guitar from Pedro Alvarez (WA), a laptop concerto by Stuart James (WA) and a new harp work funded by the Difficult Commission by Catherine Ashley (electric harp).

Additional Information

Decibel - Electronic Concertos, Act 2 available on the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) website


1. Chris Tonkin - Patchwork RSQ Remix, for Moog Sub 37 analogue synthesiser with flute, bass clarinet, cello, percussion and electronics

2. Pedro Alvarez – Intersperso-Ultradiano, for electric noise bass with viola, cello, bass clarinet, cymbals and fixed media

3. Daniel Thorpe – Limp Wrist, for Theremin, untrained dancer and mixed ensemble

4. Stuart James – Noise in the Clouds, for laptop (running customised chaos oscillator software) with viola, cello, bass flute, clarinet, 2 percussionists and electronics

Decibel: Cat Hope (artistic director, flutes, bass); Lindsay Vickery (reeds, electronics); Stuart James (electronics, keyboards, programming); Aaron Wyatt (viola); Tristen Parr (cello); Louise Devenish (percussion).

Guest soloists: Chris Tonkin (analogue synthesizer); Johannes Mulders (Theremin); and Kouhei Harada (laptop).

Music recorded 24 October 2017 by ABC Classic FM sound engineer Gavin Fernie and producer Stephen Adams.

Access Rights

metadata only record