Night music


Media is loading

Output Type

Original Creative Work


Jamie Oehlers


Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA)


Oehlers, J., Malet, R., Mitchell, H., Grafton, Z., & Vanderwal, B. (2019). Night music [Sound recording]. Australia: Jamie Oehlers.

Available for download at


We’ve all encountered the “Sleep Thief”, the one who invades our thoughts and keeps the mind ticking as the hours keep progressing; “Alter Ego” captures the essence of those who turn into someone else when the drinks are flowing and sun is down; and “Sage” mirrors those profound conversations that flow when the rest of the world is asleep. The music contains the twists and turns expected from Oehlers – from the gentle, hypnotic ballad “SOMA”, to the angular yet incessantly rhythmic “The Uncanny”.

Jamie has long been one of Australia’s most recognised jazz artists, having won the World Saxophone Competition in 2004, as well as many Australian Jazz Bell Awards for Best Jazz Album and Jazz Artist of the Year.

Track listing:

  1. Sleep Thief 06:06
  2. Sage 09:08
  3. The Uncanny 07:03
  4. Soma 09:00
  5. Alter Ego 06:33
  6. That Dream 08:27
  7. Deliquescent 09:38
  8. VSOP 07:01

Additional Information

Jamie Oehlers – tenor saxophone

Ricki Malet – trumpet

Harry Mitchell – piano

Zac Grafton – bass

Ben Vanderwal – drums

Access Rights

subscription content

This item is not available for download.