Document Type

Journal Article

Publication Title

Small Methods




School of Science




Australian Research Council / Open access publishing facilitated by The University of Adelaide, as part of the Wiley - The University of Adelaide agreement via the Council of Australian University Librarians

Grant Number

ARC Numbers : DE210100253, DP200103206

Grant Link


Yang, Y., Hu, K., Zhu, Z. S., Yao, Y., Zhang, P., Zhou, P., . . . Wang, S. (2023). Catalytic pollutant upgrading to dual-asymmetric MnO2@polymer nanotubes as self-propelled and controlled micromotors for H2O2 decomposition. Small Methods, 7(10), article 2300588.


Industrial and disinfection wastewater typically contains high levels of organic pollutants and residue hydrogen peroxide, which have caused environmental concerns. In this work, dual-asymmetric MnO2@polymer microreactors are synthesized via pollutant polymerization for self-driven and controlled H2O2 decomposition. A hollow and asymmetric MnO2 nanotube is derived from MnO2 nanorods by selective acid etching and then coated by a polymeric layer from an aqueous phenolic pollutant via catalytic peroxymonosulfate (PMS)-induced polymerization. The evolution of particle-like polymers is controlled by solution pH, molar ratios of PMS/phenol, and reaction duration. The polymer-covered MnO2 tubing-structured micromotors presented a controlled motion velocity, due to the reverse torque driven by the O2 bubbles from H2O2 decomposition in the inner tunnels. In addition, the partially coated polymeric layer can regulate the exposure and population of Mn active sites to control the H2O2 decomposition rate, thus avoiding violent motions and massive heat caused by vigorous H2O2 decomposition. The microreactors can maintain the function of mobility in an ultra-low H2O2 environment ( < 0.31 wt.%). This work provides a new strategy for the transformation of micropollutants to functional polymer-based microreactors for safe and controlled hydrogen peroxide decomposition for environmental remediation.



Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.