Quercus (Fagaceae) in Western Australia

Document Type

Journal Article

Publication Title

The Western Australian Naturalist


Western Australian Naturalists' Club Inc.

Place of Publication

Perth WA


School of Science




Lohr, M. T., & Keighery, G. (2016). Quercus (Fagaceae) in Western Australia. The Western Australian Naturalist, 30(3), 172-175. Available here


The genus Quercus, containing over 600 species, is a Northern Hemisphere group with maximum diversity in Mexico (160 species, 109 endemic) and China with c. 100 species. Members of the genus are widely grown in temperate areas of the world. For example, Quercus robur L., this species or hybrid forms purportedly from Windsor Great Park, were planted as the first Honour Avenue in Kings Park, after World War 1 although only two now remain. Randall (2007) lists 129 species of oaks (including eight named hybrids) as cultivated in Australia. Worldwide, 55 species of oaks are listed as weedy by Randall (2002): 48 as weeds (economic weeds; pests of agriculture, horticulture, turf, nurseries, etc.) and seven as naturalised. The naturalised species are: Quercus acutissima Carruth. (USA), Q. canariensis (?Aust), Q. cerris L. (UK, ?USA and NZ), Q. ilex (UK, ?Aust & NZ), Q. robur (USA, South Africa, Aust, NZ and China), Q. rubra L. (USA) and Q. suber (? Aust). Haysom and Murphy (2003) list four oaks as invasive; Quercus cerris and Q. ilex in the U.K., Q. robur invasive in S.A. and U.S.A. and Q. actutissima invasive in the U.S.A.

Access Rights

subscription content